Preserved Lemons

Preserved Lemons

Preserved Lemons

There aren’t too many things you can put up in the middle of winter.  One thing we don’t grow here in the northwest but I cannot do without are lemons.  This time of year, though, I can purchase organic meyer lemons for $3.99 a pound. 

Earlier in the week I preserved some so that we would have them for cooking when summertime rolls around and they will be the perfect addition to sorbets, chicken salad and pasta salads and dishes.  I cannot make it through the month of July without at least one lemon curd pie and my kids love to make tiny bottles of lemonade to take on picnics.

Read how to make preserved lemons on the new site.

5 responses to “Preserved Lemons

  1. This sounds delicious .. i was looking for it for a while.. thanx .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  2. sustainableeats

    Hi Laila,
    Let me know when you use it what you use it for – I’m always curious to know. I like it on pasta and with chicken. Chicken pasta is even better!

  3. That is a fantastic idea! I am going to have to try that. I really like your blog – I am currently in the process of “detoxing” my family off corn syrup and as much of that other garbage as I can. Do you still make kefir? I live in Bellevue and would be willing to pay for postage if you have some graiins to spare.

  4. sustainableeats

    Hi! I do still make kefir and I’d love to share the grains with you. I go to the UW farmer’s market every Sat morning and we could meet there or email me (annettecottrellyahoo.com) and we can work something else out. I just got done juicing and freezing some limes too and my hands smell like what I used to associate with summer haha! I’d love to hear how your detox is coming. Kefir is such a great way to do that and will give you tons of energy from all those B vitamins that are so hard to metabolize from food. Talk soon!

  5. Pingback: Moral Options for Can’t Live Without Items

Leave a Reply

