Lesson # 524 – Stinging Nettles Sting

It’s been a much more successful food week for us this week. 

My major head slapping moment, however, came while taking the stinging nettles out of the bag.  I had purchased them from the forager at the farmer’s market who generally has mushrooms and I was curious to try the wild greens in his bags.  Of course they stung me.  Silly me.  They aren’t called stinging nettles for nothing.  I have as yet to figure out how to prepare them but they may be too far gone by now for that.

Read the rest of the entry at the new blog…

4 responses to “Lesson # 524 – Stinging Nettles Sting

  1. Steam the stinging nettles! I use a glove or plastic bag to wrestle them into the steamer– Put some oil and salt on before you eat them! I could eat pounds of nettles like this (and, in the springtime, I do). If they’re too dried out, put them on a cookie sheet on top of the fridge until them dry out completely and get crispy. Store in a jar and add to your broth makin’s… they’re one of the most nutrient-rich foods I know of. Yay for nettles!

    And yay for cheese-making! A note about butter– I’ve been becoming more local in my eating too (WA resident as well). I’ve been getting raw cow’s milk from Sequim, WA (Olympic Peninsula)– draining off the milk and shaking the cream into butter. It’s not very cost effective (about a half lb. butter from a $9 gallon), but it tastes amazing, is raw, fresh and local.

  2. sustainableeats

    Hi Alexa,

    I’ve thought of doing that with the butter but then I would have skim milk to drink. I guess I could give it to my dh who is yet unconvinced that he should be drinking whole milk. It would certainly be a fun project for the kids! Do you use a glass jar for shaking? Or have you concocted another method?

  3. Stinging nettles are awesome and our family harvests them in cleaner areas of the city and on hikes. It will be time here pretty soon to go and gather some! Rubber gloves for harvesting and processing as mentioned above are necessary. Once cooked, steamed, whatever, they are safe. We have frozen blocks of it to use during the lean winter months for local greens, just plop them in the soup and there you go! We have made various recipes with them, such as frittatas, they come out delicious and super nutritious!

  4. sustainableeats

    Thanks for the tips! I feel so silly now. I’m going to get some more on Sat to give them a whirl. I love the idea of foraging them yourself since I know how abundant they are in the woods but I can’t get out on hikes yet with my crazy toddler. I wonder how many other native foods there are out there just waiting for someone to come and eat them…

Leave a Reply

