Soaked Granola

I realized this year that my near perfect (in my mind) granola would be more nutritious and easier to digest if I soaked the oats overnight first so I’ve been working on a soaked version.  I think I’ve got it!

Follow this recipe but first soak the oats overnight by putting the oats in the bowl then adding enough extra water plus 2 tablespoons of whey or buttermilk to cover them by several inches since they will swell.  In the morning drain the water and then proceed with the recipe.

Instead of cooking them on 350 F which would burn the honey long before the oats were dried cook them at 175 F to 200 F.  You can also cook them in a dehydrator using a teflar screen (the one for fruit leather).  The lower the temperature the more “true” the flavors and live enzymes from the honey remain.

You may want to start this at bedtime since it will certainly take at least 8 hours and may take up to 24 depending on how low you cook it.

If you are using a dehydrator – once the texture is dry enough flip it from the teflar screen onto the regular screen.  This will promote more even cooking and faster cooking times by improving the air flow.

Cook the granola until it is just beginning to feel hard.  It will harden more as it cools. 

Store in an airtight container for 3-4 weeks.

12 responses to “Soaked Granola

  1. Hi Annette,

    I want to try this, but I would suggest adding yogurt or buttermilk (kefir, etc.) with the overnight soaking, as it is this “acid medium” that breaks down the phytic acid. I’ve heard it takes 24 hours for oats.

    Do you think this would still work? I’ll give it a shot soon and let you know, thanks for the recipe!

    Kelly

  2. sustainableeats

    Hi Kelly,

    I see recipes in NT for oats that don’t call for an acid medium so that is why I left it out. If you want you can add 2 T of whey but I would be afraid of any changes adding that much buttermilk would make. The longer buttermilk is out like that the more tangy things taste and granola isn’t really one of those things you want tang to. At least my family doesn’t.

    But if you do try it that way let me know how it comes out!

  3. Do you know which ones in NT didn’t call for an acid medium? Because wow, that will make things easier if that’s not necessary! 🙂

  4. sustainableeats

    Now I’m going to have to apologize because as I’m flipping through the book all the ones I see that didn’t either use sprouted flour or bulgur or kashi which was sprouted before drying. If you try this with a buttermilk soak let me know how it comes out. I have added 2 T whey to my soaking water and will note that in the recipe. I find if I use whey in the bread instead of the buttermilk it is sweeter and less tangy so that is why I’ve used the whey in this as well.

  5. I don’t know if the same results apply to grains, but here’s a pretty thorough discussion of phytate reduction methods in legumes: http://www.rebuild-from-depression.com/simplechange/simplechange/simplechange/beans.html

    I came across your post while looking for a soaked granola recipe. I want to find something to substitute for my husbands store bought granola bars.

  6. sustainableeats

    Hi Laurie,

    They totally apply to grains. My toddler loves this granola but it’s not the same as the non-soaked version in any way, shape or form. It’s sort of it’s own thing. We call it breakfast cookie. I’d stopped experimenting with this until winter again so if you run with it and improve it please let me know!

  7. Annette – I find took the time to make up a batch and posted the results on my blog: http://commonsensehomesteading.blogspot.com/2009/12/breakfast-cookies-aka-soaked-granola.html

    Thanks for sharing your great recipe.

  8. Hi there!

    Quick question… do you have to dehydrate your oats after soaking them before you put the whole granola batch together?

    First round of granola is in the water and whey.

    I’m so excited! 🙂

    thanks,
    shannon

  9. I just got the latest comment and realized I never updated you when I tried it. I have made my soaked granola recipe (actually Cheeseslave’s recipe) a couple times now – once with yogurt and once with whey, and it turns out good! I actually have some dehydrating right now. (Here’s the recipe: http://kellythekitchenkop.com/2010/01/homemade-breakfast-cereal-homemade-granola-snack-from-cheeseslave.html)

    To answer Shannon above, in my recipe, yes, you dry the batch first without all the other ingredients, and then again after.

    Kelly

  10. Thanks for jumping in Kelly! I think Wardeh has a similar recipe on her most excellent site, GNOWFGLINS.com as well. Shannon please let us know what you think when it’s done! I haven’t made this in ages now but I really should. At least I can cook in the dehydrator without heating up the kitchen!

  11. Hi there,

    It took about 4-5 hours to dry (I over dryed it a little) I loved it. YUM. Then put it together with pears that I dried and maple syrup. It is good not great. I am looking forward to putting another batch together in the next couple of days. Thanks for your help.

    Shannon

  12. sustainableeats

    Good! I actually add the maple syrup & fruit before I dry it because we call it “cookie” here. I’d love to hear any other ideas you have and how they work out for you!

Leave a Reply

