Cheesemaking Flops

So I had a class on growing groceries Sat when I normally am shopping the UW farmer’s market for food and I was unable to buy my mozzarella from River Valley Ranch like I usually do.  I decided to make my own.  I had just taken the class a few weeks before and it seemed easy enough.  Although in hindsight I realize that may be because they did all the actual work and we mostly drank wine. 

It went well until I checked my curds during one of the rest phases and they were 110 degrees!  Somehow they had gone up from the 102 I had taken them out of the whey at.  I still can’t figure out how that happened but the resulting mozzarella was very tough.  It tasted fine though and in the end it melted just fine on pizza which is what counts.

Trying to salvage my losses I made ricotta with the spent whey.  An hour and a half later I had the tiniest fistful of ricotta to show for my gallon of whey I started out with.  It tastes good but I was a little disheartened.  And the dishes took forever to clean up. 

Totally worth the $5 per blob to buy the mozzarella at the market.  But don’t do it if you ever plan to buy mozzarella from the grocery store again.  You won’t be able to eat it after you taste this mozzarella!

I do plan to make more posts about cheesemaking in the near future so check back if you were looking for photos or recipes.

2 responses to “Cheesemaking Flops

  1. Sounds like you’ve got some great cheesemaking resources out there. If you have not already spotted them, look for the mozzarella recipes at:

    http://www.fiascofarm.com (it has the BEST flavor) and
    Google “Fankhauser’s Cheese Page”. He’s got lots of great photos and info.

    I like the Fiasco Farm recipe also because you only the heat the curds about 91 or so.

    Enjoy your cheesemaking experiments! Can’t wait to get back to mine (after babe comes).

  2. sustainableeats

    What a great site – I added the link to my blogroll. Thank you! I’m trying their’s next time…

Leave a Reply

