Homemade Chocolate Ice Cream

Since buying this Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker
we’ve been on an ice cream bender lately.  After all those years of trying to get toddler’s weight up (with both of my kids) I’m kicking myself for not thinking of this one sooner.  Organic milk and cream, maple syrup, egg yolks – it’s the stuff I was fortifying their sippy cups with anyway. 

Read the rest of the entry at the new blog…

6 responses to “Homemade Chocolate Ice Cream

  1. Great recipe! I’ve had my husband grandmother’s electric ice cream machine in my closer for a year now. It was the first electric model made. I was too intimidated to make ice cream for some reason. I loved reading your recipe and gave it a try today. The ice cream turned out perfect on the first try! I am so happy and grateful to you for posting this recipe.

  2. sustainableeats

    I’m so glad it worked out for you! My 5 year old is still deciding this week’s ice cream flavor. He thinks this is the best thing ever and you know – cream, maple syrup & eggs are things I don’t mind (and WANT) him eating anyway so it’s tempting to let him have it for breakfast if he wants. I’m just not so sure what kind of precedence that sets…

  3. Oh yes, it is so nice to feel comfortable saying yes to healthy sweets. Have you made strawberry ice cream? How would change the recipe to make strawberry rather than chocolate for our next batch?

  4. sustainableeats

    Sorry this took me so long to respond. I’ve made it several ways before – one way is to puree fresh berries in the blender and then add that to vanilla ice cream (this same recipe minus cocoa powder, decrease maple syrup to 1/2 cup, increase vanilla to 1 tablespoon and no more then 3 egg yolks) after it’s cooled. You can also stir in washed, halved berries for texture. Or you could just stir in washed, halved berries and omit the puree. It depends if you want more chunks. Then you would freeze it in the your ice cream maker.

    We just made vanilla today and I saved some out, added espresso powder and some cocoa powder then threw it in a plastic tumbler with lid into the freezer. The texture won’t be as nice without churning but who cares! I need a secret stash of something some days…

    I’m really excited for our fig trees we just put in. We probably won’t get any this year but I can’t wait to make chocolate fig ice cream!

    Or mint from our mint patch, or cantelope popsicles from our melons, or cinnamon, or chai latte…very excited about the ice cream maker over here!

  5. Pingback: Snickerdoodle Ice Cream

  6. Pingback: When Life Gives You Too Many Eggs…Make Eggnog

Leave a Reply

