The Front Yard Conversion is Almost Done!

My wonderful husband spent the weekend building the fence & garden boxes for the front yard conversion and we’re close to done!

img_1647

The grass is out, the front is terraced, the nasty “legacy” plantings are gone (after five years of work!), the garden boxes are framed and we have security from stray dogs.

We still need to gravel around the boxes, string wire along the fence to make the gaps smaller (I wanted lots of light coming through) and put up the raspberry T trellises but we are getting close! I’m so dad gum excited I can’t stand it.

It’s been a long dream of mine to use our front lawn for growing groceries since we rarely play out there and it is full sun exposure.

Next up, irrigation system and chickens…

7 responses to “The Front Yard Conversion is Almost Done!

  1. WOW! I am so jealous! That looks great and is sooooooo exciting! Good Luck and happy planting and eating!

  2. You’ll be able to grow allot of food in that space. Personal industry pays off well.

  3. sustainableeats

    I just need to remember how to garden now…but I’m excited to do that. Does anyone have any suggestions for fencing the front terraced portion from dogs w/o building another wooden fence since that would eat into the growing space too much? I would love to fill it with blueberry bushes but I’m afraid of the dog poop.

  4. bleeats (just kidding), I am not sure how to avoid cutting into the ground space. How much space do you have/wish to have? I know chain link is less desirable than a beautiful wooden fence like this, but there are similar alternatives. If you figure something out, though, I would love to hear it. Blueberries sound wonderful, too, btw.

  5. Wow! Your conversion is looking great. I am really impressed and wish you much abundance!

    Love, Wardeh
    from GNOWFGLINS

  6. I’m starting much smaller than you. Just a few boxes in my front yard to hold a few vegetables. But I dream of so much more.

    I clicked on over here from who knows where … just followed from one link to the next. I’m so curious to see how it will all look and to learn from your process.

    I love the look of what you’ve done so far.

  7. sustainableeats

    Thanks for your comments everyone. I’m naming this my mid life crisis garden – just to put the cost in perspective for my darling husband. It’s way cheaper then a sports car!

    I’ll take more pictures later this week when the rains let up and I’ve made a little more progress. I’ve got seedlings I need to get out there ASAP!

Leave a Reply

