Confessions of a Hyper Locavore

Allright, it’s time for me to come clean.  Friday while shopping for sweetener, soap and bulk Glory Bee honey at PCC I felt a tinge of guilt.  My toddler was pointing to the Annie’s bunny crackers pleading in that sweet little Oliver Twist voice that is so hard to refuse. 

Since taking our pledge for 2009 of not buying any processed food unless we know where every ingredient comes from and how it is made the only thing I’ve bought that sort of breaks these rules are [read the rest of this entry at the new blog…

4 responses to “Confessions of a Hyper Locavore

  1. You’re doing a fantastic job with your pledge. Don’t beat yourself up. You’re an inspiration for us all!

    Love, Wardeh

  2. I just discovered your site and am enjoying it greatly. thought I would let you know that according to some mamas on mothering.com’s traditional foods forum Tilamook pastures their cows. It is also one of the few processed foods we buy when the budget is too tight for raw cheese from the farm.

  3. sustainableeats

    Hi Marilyn,

    That is good to know – thanks! My toddler loves colby and jack and my last attempt at jack didn’t turn out after I stayed up until 2 a.m. making it. They don’t claim their cheese is from organic milk but maybe they are in the process of getting certified since I think it takes 5 years. I’ll have to email them and find out the scoop. Boy would that make things easier! I’ll have to go look at the traditional foods forum over there, I didn’t know about that!

  4. Pingback: Dark Days Challenge

Leave a Reply

